The Other Tie That Binds: Release Fear and Embrace Your Potential

Education is an opportunity for advancement that goes beyond one’s self. It creates occasions to enhance your family, your community, and your career.

by Leslie Washington, Advantage Mentor

I was inspired to write this after noticing a commonality with the concerns of some of my mentees.  The words “fear” and “afraid” are a recurring theme in many initial mentoring sessions.  This made me think about how I felt when I began the Advantage Program at Avila University.  I can remember questioning my abilities to preform, achieve, and even accomplish the ultimate goal of obtaining my degree.  I had to face my fears, and in facing them I overcame them.  I consider the biggest fear to already be conquered because; you made the decision to continue your education.  The hardest thing is making the first step, “well that’s done!” One fear down.  The next step involves understanding that college is all about a progressive journey.  It equips you to be able to thrive in your educational journey as well as your career path.  The areas you may be lacking in; college fills in the gaps.

Fear is what enables us to tap into our fullest potential, and in doing so it cripples you from achieving.  You may ask yourself, “I’m I ready? Can I do this? Will there be somebody there to help me on my journey?”  The answers to all of these questions are “Yes!”  So I say to you my fellow student, “You are capable and you are ready!”

Step into your fullest potential and allow a gateway of possibility to come your way.

Higher education is going to take what you already have, and elevate you into an entirely new level of thought processing.  One that is enriched with depth and content.  One that is relatable to real world situations.  One that is open to different points of views.  Education is an opportunity for advancement that goes beyond one’s self. It creates occasions to enhance your family, your community, and your career.  You are gifted with a chance of a lifetime — don’t waste it being fearful.  Step into your fullest potential and allow a gateway of possibility to come your way.

I leave you with a powerful quote by Marianne Williamson, “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

Remember to shine! Do not let fear overcome you!

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Leslie, Mentors, Strengths
3 comments on “The Other Tie That Binds: Release Fear and Embrace Your Potential
  1. Karl washington says:

    That was a great !!!

  2. Loran Coleman says:

    Very inspiring!

  3. Toni Austin-Booze says:

    Very inspiring and uplifting Leslie!

Comment...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

